EVENTS

EVENTS

Oct
24
Tue
Children’s Storytime: Apples & Pumpkins! @ McIntyre's Books
Oct 24 @ 10:30 am – 11:00 am

Join Children’s Book Buyer, Sarah, for storytime with our littlest readers — babies, toddlers and preschoolers are welcome! This week’s theme is Apples & Pumpkins!
Contact the bookstore with any questions at 919.542.3030.
About Sarah Carr, Children’s Book Buyer
With 30 years of experience selling books, including being a longtime employee at McIntyre’s, Sarah was an obvious choice to take over the role of Children’s Book Buyer. If you need assistance with selections for children, she is your go-to source. Sarah lives in Pittsboro with her husband and two sons.

Oct
26
Thu
Anxiety and Learned Helplessness @ The Hill Center
Oct 26 @ 6:30 pm – 8:00 pm

Learn practical resources and tips on how to navigate anxiety and learned helplessness in your school-aged child with Dr. Cheryl Chase.

Cheryl Chase, Ph.D. is a licensed clinical psychologist in private practice near Cleveland, Ohio. She specializes in the diagnostic and neuropsychological assessment of various conditions impacting children, adolescents, and young adults including ADHD, Pervasive Developmental Disorders, Learning Disorders, and emotional concerns. In addition to her clinical practice, Dr. Chase is also an accomplished speaker at the local and national levels, leading workshops on such timely topics as executive functioning, differentiated instruction, and creative ways to support those who struggle in school.

Oct
31
Tue
Children’s Storytime: Halloween! @ McIntyre's Books
Oct 31 @ 10:30 am – 11:00 am

Join Children’s Book Buyer, Sarah, for storytime with our littlest readers — babies, toddlers and preschoolers are welcome! This week’s theme is Halloween – all children are encouraged to come to storytime in their costumes!
Contact the bookstore with any questions at 919.542.3030.
About Sarah Carr, Children’s Book Buyer
With 30 years of experience selling books, including being a longtime employee at McIntyre’s, Sarah was an obvious choice to take over the role of Children’s Book Buyer. If you need assistance with selections for children, she is your go-to source. Sarah lives in Pittsboro with her husband and two sons.

Nov
7
Tue
Children’s Storytime: Bears! @ McIntyre's Books
Nov 7 @ 10:30 am – 11:00 am

Join Children’s Book Buyer, Sarah, for storytime with our littlest readers — babies, toddlers and preschoolers are welcome! This week’s theme is Bears!
Contact the bookstore with any questions at 919.542.3030.
About Sarah Carr, Children’s Book Buyer
With 30 years of experience selling books, including being a longtime employee at McIntyre’s, Sarah was an obvious choice to take over the role of Children’s Book Buyer. If you need assistance with selections for children, she is your go-to source. Sarah lives in Pittsboro with her husband and two sons.

Nov
14
Tue
Children’s Storytime: Hoo’s Here? @ McIntyre's Books
Nov 14 @ 10:30 am – 11:00 am

Join Children’s Book Buyer, Sarah, for storytime with our littlest readers — babies, toddlers and preschoolers are welcome! This week’s theme is Hoo’s Here?
Contact the bookstore with any questions at 919.542.3030.
About Sarah Carr, Children’s Book Buyer
With 30 years of experience selling books, including being a longtime employee at McIntyre’s, Sarah was an obvious choice to take over the role of Children’s Book Buyer. If you need assistance with selections for children, she is your go-to source. Sarah lives in Pittsboro with her husband and two sons.

Nov
17
Fri
Nancy Pearl – George & Lizzie @ McIntyre's Books
Nov 17 @ 6:30 pm – 7:30 pm

From “America’s librarian” and NPR books commentator Nancy Pearl comes an emotionally riveting debut novel about an unlikely marriage at a crossroads.
George and Lizzie have radically different understandings of what love and marriage should be. George grew up in a warm and loving family — his father an orthodontist, his mother a stay-at-home mom — while Lizzie grew up as the only child of two famous psychologists, who viewed her more as an in-house experiment than a child to love.
Over the course of their marriage, nothing has changed — George is happy; Lizzie remains . . . unfulfilled. When a shameful secret from Lizzie’s past resurfaces, she’ll need to face her fears in order to accept the true nature of the relationship she and George have built over a decade together.
With pitch-perfect prose and compassion and humor to spare, George and Lizzie is an intimate story of new and past loves, the scars of childhood, and an imperfect marriage at its defining moments.
Nancy Pearl is known as “America’s Librarian.” She speaks about the pleasures of reading at library conferences, to literacy organizations and community groups throughout the world and comments on books regularly on KUOW FM in Seattle, as well as KWGS in Tulsa, Oklahoma and Wisconsin Public Radio. Born and raised in Detroit, she received her master’s degree in library science in 1967 from the University of Michigan. She also received an MA in history from Oklahoma State University in 1977. Among her many honors and awards are the 2011 Librarian of the Year Award from Library Journal; and the 2011 Lifetime Achievement Award from the Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association. She also hosts a monthly television show, Book Lust with Nancy Pearl. She lives in Seattle.

Nov
18
Sat
Kelly Starling Lyons – Jada Jones @ McIntyre's Books
Nov 18 @ 2:00 pm – 3:00 pm

Join us to celebrate the publication of the new chapter book series by local author Kelly Starling Lyons. Fans of Princess Posey and Ivy and Bean will enjoy engaging with Jada Jones in this easy-to-read chapter books.
Jada Jones: Rock Star: When Jada Jones’s best friend moves away, school feels like the last place she wants to be. She’d much rather wander outside looking for cool rocks to add to her collection, since finding rocks is much easier than finding friends. So when Jada’s teacher announces a class project on rocks and minerals, Jada finally feels like she’s in her element. The only problem: one of her teammates doesn’t seem to like any of Jada’s ideas. She doesn’t seem to like Jada all that much, either. Can Jada figure out a way to make a winning science project and a new friend?
Jada Jones: Class Act: As a candidate for class representative, Jada is ready to give the campaign her all. But when rumors start to fly about her secret fear of public speaking, she isn’t sure who she can trust. And the pressure to make promises she can’t keep only adds to her growing list of problems. Is winning even worth it when friendships are on the line?
Kelly Starling Lyons is a children’s book author whose mission is to transform moments, memories and history into stories of discovery. Her books include chapter book, NEATE: Eddie’s Ordeal; CCBC Choices-honored picture book, One Million Men and Me; Ellen’s Broom, a Coretta Scott King Illustrator Honor book, Junior Library Guild and Bank Street Best selection; Tea Cakes for Tosh and Hope’s Gift, Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People, and Scholastic Reading Club pick One More Dino on the Floor.  She lives in Raleigh with her husband and daughter and son, who love collecting rocks just like the star of her new chapter books, Jada Jones.

Nov
21
Tue
Children’s Storytime: Giving Thanks! @ McIntyre's Books
Nov 21 @ 10:30 am – 11:00 am

Join Children’s Book Buyer, Sarah, for storytime with our littlest readers — babies, toddlers and preschoolers are welcome! This week’s theme is Giving Thanks!
Contact the bookstore with any questions at 919.542.3030.
About Sarah Carr, Children’s Book Buyer
With 30 years of experience selling books, including being a longtime employee at McIntyre’s, Sarah was an obvious choice to take over the role of Children’s Book Buyer. If you need assistance with selections for children, she is your go-to source. Sarah lives in Pittsboro with her husband and two sons.

Nov
28
Tue
Children’s Storytime: Monkey Business! @ McIntyre's Books
Nov 28 @ 10:30 am – 11:00 am

Join Children’s Book Buyer, Sarah, for storytime with our littlest readers — babies, toddlers and preschoolers are welcome! This week’s theme is Monkey Business!
Contact the bookstore with any questions at 919.542.3030.
About Sarah Carr, Children’s Book Buyer
With 30 years of experience selling books, including being a longtime employee at McIntyre’s, Sarah was an obvious choice to take over the role of Children’s Book Buyer. If you need assistance with selections for children, she is your go-to source. Sarah lives in Pittsboro with her husband and two sons.

Dec
9
Sat
Holiday Storytime with Llama Llama Red Pajama @ McIntyre's Books
Dec 9 @ 2:00 pm – 3:00 pm

Join McIntyre’s Books for a special storytime and visit from Llama Llama Red Pajama himself to celebrate the holiday season!
Come in your cozy pajamas to hear some Llama Llama stories, do some fun crafts and enjoy holiday treats! Children of all ages are welcome!
Contact the bookstore with any questions at 919.542.3030.
About Sarah Carr, Children’s Book Buyer
With 30 years of experience selling books, including being a longtime employee at McIntyre’s, Sarah was an obvious choice to take over the role of Children’s Book Buyer. If you need assistance with selections for children, she is your go-to source. Sarah lives in Pittsboro with her husband and two sons.

Dec
16
Sat
Donald Davis Storytelling @ The Fearrington Barn
Dec 16 @ 11:00 am – 1:00 pm

We are thrilled that Donald Davis is returning to The Fearrington Barn on Saturday, December 16th at 11am and Sunday, December 17th at 2pm to delight us with his stories!

Renowned story teller Donald Davis is back! Donald has been visiting The Fearrington Barn to spin his tales for over 20 years and is one of the foremost storytellers in the country. He has been featured at the World’s Fair, the Smithsonian Institution, the National Storytelling Festival, and as guest host on NPR’s “Good Evening.”

In lieu of admission, donations of canned goods to CORA and gently used Children’s Books to Book Harvest will be accepted. This event fills up quick so get there early!

Dec
17
Sun
Donald Davis Storytelling @ The Fearrington Barn
Dec 17 @ 2:00 pm – 4:00 pm

We are thrilled that Donald Davis is returning to The Fearrington Barn on Saturday, December 16th at 11am and Sunday, December 17th at 2pm to delight us with his stories!

Renowned story teller Donald Davis is back! Donald has been visiting The Fearrington Barn to spin his tales for over 20 years and is one of the foremost storytellers in the country. He has been featured at the World’s Fair, the Smithsonian Institution, the National Storytelling Festival, and as guest host on NPR’s “Good Evening.”

In lieu of admission, donations of canned goods to CORA and gently used Children’s Books to Book Harvest will be accepted. This event fills up quick so get there early!