EVENTS

EVENTS

Nov
18
Sat
Durham Art Walk Holiday Market @ Downtown Durham
Nov 18 @ 10:00 am – Nov 19 @ 5:00 pm

The 2017 Durham Art Walk Holiday Market kicks off the holiday season with local art, music, food, and family activities at various locations in Durham’s historic downtown district. Durham Art Walk is produced and presented by the Durham Arts Council with support from many generous community sponsors. Be a part of this great community art event: shop, sponsor, volunteer! Start you Art Walk at the Durham Arts Council Building, 120 Morris Street. Saturday November 18, 10am-5pm, Sunday November 19, 1pm-5pm.

Holiday Market @ Umstead Pines
Nov 18 @ 10:00 am – 2:00 pm

Join us at our 7th annual Holiday Market, sponsored by Multiple Choices for the Children – a fundraiser benefiting Duke Children’s Hospital.

Sip while you shop with some of the Bull City’s finest, local businesses, eat great BBQ, try your luck at winning great door prizes and let the Company Dancers of Durham entertain you!

Kelly Starling Lyons – Jada Jones @ McIntyre's Books
Nov 18 @ 2:00 pm – 3:00 pm

Join us to celebrate the publication of the new chapter book series by local author Kelly Starling Lyons. Fans of Princess Posey and Ivy and Bean will enjoy engaging with Jada Jones in this easy-to-read chapter books.
Jada Jones: Rock Star: When Jada Jones’s best friend moves away, school feels like the last place she wants to be. She’d much rather wander outside looking for cool rocks to add to her collection, since finding rocks is much easier than finding friends. So when Jada’s teacher announces a class project on rocks and minerals, Jada finally feels like she’s in her element. The only problem: one of her teammates doesn’t seem to like any of Jada’s ideas. She doesn’t seem to like Jada all that much, either. Can Jada figure out a way to make a winning science project and a new friend?
Jada Jones: Class Act: As a candidate for class representative, Jada is ready to give the campaign her all. But when rumors start to fly about her secret fear of public speaking, she isn’t sure who she can trust. And the pressure to make promises she can’t keep only adds to her growing list of problems. Is winning even worth it when friendships are on the line?
Kelly Starling Lyons is a children’s book author whose mission is to transform moments, memories and history into stories of discovery. Her books include chapter book, NEATE: Eddie’s Ordeal; CCBC Choices-honored picture book, One Million Men and Me; Ellen’s Broom, a Coretta Scott King Illustrator Honor book, Junior Library Guild and Bank Street Best selection; Tea Cakes for Tosh and Hope’s Gift, Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People, and Scholastic Reading Club pick One More Dino on the Floor.  She lives in Raleigh with her husband and daughter and son, who love collecting rocks just like the star of her new chapter books, Jada Jones.

Nov
21
Tue
Children’s Storytime: Giving Thanks! @ McIntyre's Books
Nov 21 @ 10:30 am – 11:00 am

Join Children’s Book Buyer, Sarah, for storytime with our littlest readers — babies, toddlers and preschoolers are welcome! This week’s theme is Giving Thanks!
Contact the bookstore with any questions at 919.542.3030.
About Sarah Carr, Children’s Book Buyer
With 30 years of experience selling books, including being a longtime employee at McIntyre’s, Sarah was an obvious choice to take over the role of Children’s Book Buyer. If you need assistance with selections for children, she is your go-to source. Sarah lives in Pittsboro with her husband and two sons.

Nov
28
Tue
Children’s Storytime: Monkey Business! @ McIntyre's Books
Nov 28 @ 10:30 am – 11:00 am

Join Children’s Book Buyer, Sarah, for storytime with our littlest readers — babies, toddlers and preschoolers are welcome! This week’s theme is Monkey Business!
Contact the bookstore with any questions at 919.542.3030.
About Sarah Carr, Children’s Book Buyer
With 30 years of experience selling books, including being a longtime employee at McIntyre’s, Sarah was an obvious choice to take over the role of Children’s Book Buyer. If you need assistance with selections for children, she is your go-to source. Sarah lives in Pittsboro with her husband and two sons.

Dec
2
Sat
Christmas at Stagville @ Historic Stagville State Historic Site
Dec 2 @ 12:00 pm – 5:00 pm

A holiday open house at Historic Stagville!

Explore our site and learn about holiday traditions for all different families at Stagville. You’ll visit the house of the Bennehan-Cameron slaveholders, the 1850 house of an enslaved family, and the house of a freed family after Emancipation. Kids and adults of all ages can help dress these houses for the coming Christmas season. This open house is free to all.

Come back at 5 p.m. for lantern tours! Tickets are $5 per person, children under 2 are free. See a special performance in the tradition of Jonkonnu, the West African fusion tradition celebrated by enslaved people at Stagville. Tour the houses in the evening with fires and lantern light.
Tickets go on sale in November.

Positive Impact for Kids 5K presented by Duke Health @ Southern Community Park
Dec 2 @ 1:00 pm – 2:45 pm

My name is Leanne Joyce and I am the 18-year-old President of the 501(c)(3) Positive Impact for Kids. I have raised over $100,000 and purchase items from pediatric hospital wish lists to improve the hospital experience for children and teens.

The Chapel Hill Police Department and Orange County Sheriff’s Office are partnering with Positive Impact for Kids to facilitate our second annual 5K (walk/run) fundraiser and Chase the Chief Fun Run for kids. Chief Chris Blue of the Chapel Hill Police Department will give the kids (age 12 and under) a one minute head start and then race them in a clock timed one mile run. All pre-registered fun run participants will receive a prize!

Top prizes will be presented to the 5K first, second, and third place male and female by Fleet Feet and Omega Sports. The 5K will start at 1pm and the fun run will start at 2:15pm. The 5K will be professionally chip timed and managed by Cardinal Race Services.

All proceeds will benefit Duke Children’s Hospital and UNC Children’s Hospital.

Dec
3
Sun
Nutcracker Tea Party @ The Washington Duke Inn and Golf Club
Dec 3 @ 2:00 pm

You are cordially invited to Barriskill Dance Theatre School’s Nutcracker Tea Party!
Ticket includes holiday tea, cocoa, treats, and a special peek at this year’s Nutcracker Ballet. Dress your best and meet your favorite characters!

Ticket Pricing: 1 Seat – $35, 10 Seat Table – $300

Please contact megan@barriskilldance.com or call 919.489.5100 to purchase tickets.

Dec
8
Fri
S’mores with Santa Community Campfire @ Edgemont Park
Dec 8 @ 7:00 pm – 8:00 pm

Join Santa around the warm, crackling campfire, making sweet candy cane s’mores. All ages. No pre-registration required. No Cost.

Dec
9
Sat
Holiday Storytime with Llama Llama Red Pajama @ McIntyre's Books
Dec 9 @ 2:00 pm – 3:00 pm

Join McIntyre’s Books for a special storytime and visit from Llama Llama Red Pajama himself to celebrate the holiday season!
Come in your cozy pajamas to hear some Llama Llama stories, do some fun crafts and enjoy holiday treats! Children of all ages are welcome!
Contact the bookstore with any questions at 919.542.3030.
About Sarah Carr, Children’s Book Buyer
With 30 years of experience selling books, including being a longtime employee at McIntyre’s, Sarah was an obvious choice to take over the role of Children’s Book Buyer. If you need assistance with selections for children, she is your go-to source. Sarah lives in Pittsboro with her husband and two sons.

Dec
12
Tue
Film Festival Series: To Life @ Levin JCC
Dec 12 @ 7:00 pm

An uplifting drama-romance bringing together two disparate wounded souls, To Life! tells of the growing bond between an aging Polish-born cabaret singer and a young German man driven by a secret.

To Life is part of the Film Festival Series at the Levin JCC. The Levin JCC and Israel Center invite you to bring your family and friends to screen films educating and celebrating Jewish and Israeli community, culture, and history. Each month, our Film Festival Series will feature a new or older movie that highlights the work of Jewish directors, actors, and screenwriters. Some films may not be suited for all ages.

Dec
15
Fri
Barriskill Dance Theatre School’s The Nutcracker Ballet @ Reynolds Industries Theater
Dec 15 – Dec 17 all-day

Barriskill Dance Theatre School is proud to present our annual production of Tchaikovsky’s Nutcracker Ballet. Join us for a magical production of this family holiday classic!

There will be four performances this year:
Friday, December 15 at 7pm
Saturday, December 16 at 11am and 5pm
Sunday, December 17 at 1pm

Ticket pricing:
Kids: $15
Adults: $25-$30

Dec
17
Sun
Donald Davis Storytelling @ The Fearrington Barn
Dec 17 @ 2:00 pm – 4:00 pm

We are thrilled that Donald Davis is returning to The Fearrington Barn on Saturday, December 16th at 11am and Sunday, December 17th at 2pm to delight us with his stories!

Renowned story teller Donald Davis is back! Donald has been visiting The Fearrington Barn to spin his tales for over 20 years and is one of the foremost storytellers in the country. He has been featured at the World’s Fair, the Smithsonian Institution, the National Storytelling Festival, and as guest host on NPR’s “Good Evening.”

In lieu of admission, donations of canned goods to CORA and gently used Children’s Books to Book Harvest will be accepted. This event fills up quick so get there early!