EVENTS

EVENTS

Jan
14
Sat
Susan Rivers – The Second Mrs. Hockaday @ McIntyre's Books
Jan 14 @ 11:00 am – 12:00 pm

When Major Gryffth Hockaday is called to the front lines of the Civil War, his new bride is left to care for her husband’s three-hundred-acre farm and infant son. Placidia, a mere teenager herself living far from her family and completely unprepared to run a farm or raise a child, must endure the darkest days of the war on her own. By the time Major Hockaday returns two years later, Placidia is bound for jail, accused of having borne a child in his absence and murdering it. What really transpired in the two years he was away?
 
Inspired by a true incident, this saga unfolds with gripping intensity, conjuring the era with uncanny immediacy. Amid the desperation of wartime, Placidia sees the social order of her Southern homeland unravel. As she comes to understand how her own history is linked to one runaway slave, her perspective on race and family are upended. A love story, a story of racial divide, and a story of the South as it fell in the war, The Second Mrs. Hockaday reveals how this generation–and the next–began to see their world anew.

Jan
21
Sat
Nancy Peacock – The Life & Times of Persimmon Wilson @ McIntyre's Books
Jan 21 @ 11:00 am – 12:00 pm

For fans of Cold Mountain and The Invention of Wings comes a tour de force of historical fiction that follows the epic journey of a slave-turned-Comanche warrior who travels from the brutality of a New Orleans sugar cane plantation to the indomitable frontier of an untamed Texas, searching not only for the woman he loves but so too for his own identity.
“I have been to hangings before, but never my own.“
Sitting in a jail cell on the eve of his hanging, April 1, 1875, freedman Persimmon Persy Wilson wants nothing more than to leave some record of the truth his truth. He may be guilty, but not of what he stands accused: the kidnapping and rape of his former master’s wife.
In 1860, Persy had been sold to Sweetmore, a Louisiana sugar plantation, alongside a striking, light-skinned house slave named Chloe. Their deep and instant connection fueled a love affair and inspired plans to escape their owner, Master Wilson, who claimed Chloe as his concubine. But on the eve of the Union Army s attack on New Orleans, Wilson shot Persy, leaving him for dead, and fled with Chloe and his other slaves to Texas. So began Persy s journey across the frontier, determined to reunite with his lost love. Along the way, he would be captured by the Comanche, his only chance of survival to prove himself fierce and unbreakable enough to become a warrior. His odyssey of warfare, heartbreak, unlikely friendships, and newfound family would change the very core of his identity and teach him the meaning and the price of freedom.
Nancy Peacock is the author of the novels Life Without Water and Home Across the Road, as well as the memoir, A Broom of One’s Own: Words on Writing, Housecleaning, and Life. She currently teaches writing classes and workshops in and around Chapel Hill, North Carolina, where she lives with her husband Ben.

Fiction Writing Workshop with Steve Peha & Margot Lester @ McIntyre's Books
Jan 21 @ 2:00 pm – 3:00 pm

In this workshop, we’ll meet the challenge of writing fiction head on. You’ll create a rough sketch of a complete novel or short story, and you’ll start writing your opening scene. Writers from 8 to 88 have enjoyed this workshop for the last ten years.
Steve Peha is an award-winning author and the founder of Teaching That Makes Sense, Inc., a Carrboro, North Carolina-based education consultancy. During this workshop, he will write along with all participants describing the origin of his first and as-yet-to-be-completed novel, Jordan’s Run.
Margot Carmichael Lester is the founder of The Word Factory, as well as an active journalist and author. She has three books to her name, including Be a Better Writer, on which she collaborated with her husband, Steve Peha.

We kindly request that you RSVP via email. We look forward to seeing you at this event!

Feb
3
Fri
Cooks & Books: Lunch with Kian Lam Kho @ The Fearrington Granary
Feb 3 @ 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm

Join us at The Granary to celebrate Kian Lam Kho’s cookbook, Phoenix Claws & Jade Trees. Tickets include dinner, a copy of the cookbook, service fee and tax.
Food writer, author of 10 cookbooks and Asian cuisine expert, Nancie McDermott, will be the guest hostess for this luncheon. McDermott has written several cookbooks on Asian cuisine and served as a Peace Corps volunteer in Thailand.

The winner of the 2016 IACP Julia Child First Book Award, Phoenix Claws and Jade Trees offers a unique introduction to Chinese home cooking, demystifying it by focusing on its basic cooking methods. In outlining the differences among various techniques — such as pan-frying, oil steeping, and yin-yang frying — and instructing which one is best for particular ingredients and end results, culinary expert Kian Lam Kho provides a practical, intuitive window into this unique cuisine. Once you’ve learned how to dry stir-fry chicken, you can then confidently apply the technique to tofu, shrimp, and any number of ingredients.
Accompanied by more than 200 photographs, including helpful step-by-step images, the 158 recipes range from simple, such as Spicy Lotus Root Salad or Red Cooked Pork, to slightly more involved, including authentic General Tso’s Chicken or Pork Shank Soup with Winter Bamboo. But the true brilliance behind this innovative book lies in the way it teaches the soul of Chinese cooking, enabling home cooks to master this diverse, alluring cuisine and then to re-create any tempting dish they encounter or can imagine.
About Kian Lam Kho
After training as an aerospace engineer and developing software on Wall Street for more than twenty years, Kian decided to pursue his passion for cooking. He apprenticed in the kitchen of Chef Josh Capon at Canteen (now Lure Fishbar), in New York City’s Soho neighborhood, where he learned to produce modern American food.
However, it was Chinese cooking that interested him the most. After Canteen he started organizing pop-up Chinese banquet events to showcase the variety of ingredients and versatility of techniques in Chinese cuisine rarely experienced in American Chinese restaurants. He continues to work at different restaurants as a guest chef, creating unique Chinese banquet events.
In January of 2008 Kian created the Chinese cooking blog, Red Cook. The blog emphasizes the importance of understanding proper Chinese cooking techniques while describing them in historical and cultural context. Red Cook was selected as a finalist and nominated for the James Beard Foundation Award in 2011.

Feb
8
Wed
Preschool Storytime @ McIntyre's Books
Feb 8 @ 11:00 am – 12:00 pm

Story time for the littlest readers — perfect for the 3 and under crowd!

Feb
18
Sat
Sylvia Inks – Small Business Finance for the Busy Entrepreneur @ McIntyre's Books
Feb 18 @ 2:00 pm – 3:00 pm

Come meet a local, bestselling author who has helped many entrepreneurs learn how to save time, save money, and become profitable.
Sylvia Inks shares stories of real-life entrepreneurs, their struggles, and lessons learned. Find out what many small business owners, even those who have been in business for several years, had to learn the hard and expensive way. There is something for everyone!
Founder of SMI Financial Coaching, Sylvia Inks spent ten years with one of the world’s largest consulting firms, working with Fortune 500 organizations in financial services, insurance, healthcare and technology to improve processes, performance and profitability. Sylvia now brings that success, experience, and expertise to help small business owners identify, implement, and manage practical, low-stress financial solutions that enable business growth.
Sylvia holds a bachelor’s degree in business administration from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She presents her 7 Secrets to Financial Success for Small Business Owners to aspiring and seasoned entrepreneurs at Wake Tech Small Business Center, real estate teams, and community groups.

Feb
19
Sun
NCPS Reading Series @ McIntyre's Books
Feb 19 @ 2:00 pm – 3:00 pm

North Carolina Poetry Society Reading with Regina Dozier, Brad Strahan, and Scott Owens.

Feb
25
Sat
Mark Greaney – Gunmetal Gray @ McIntyre's Books
Feb 25 @ 11:00 am – 12:00 pm

After five years on the run Court Gentry is back on the inside at the CIA. But his first mission makes him wish he had stayed on the outs when a pair of Chinese agents try to take him down in Hong Kong. Normally the Chinese prefer to stay eyes-only on foreign agents. So why are they on such high alert?
Court’s high stakes hunt for answers takes him across Southeast Asia and leads to his old friend, Donald Fitzroy, who is being held hostage by the Chinese. Fitzroy was contracted to find Fan Jiang, a former member of an ultra-secret computer warfare unit responsible for testing China’s own security systems. And it seems Fan may have been too good at his job—because China wants him dead.
The first two kill teams Fitzroy sent to find Fan have disappeared and the Chinese have decided to “supervise” the next operation. What they don’t know is that Gentry’s mission is to find Fan first and get whatever intel he has to the US.
After that, all he has to do is get out alive . . .
Mark Greaney has a degree in international relations and political science. In his research for the Gray Man novels, including “Back Blast,” “Dead Eye,” “Ballistic,” “On Target” and “The Gray Man,” he traveled to more than fifteen countries and trained alongside military and law enforcement in the use of firearms, battlefield medicine and close-range combative tactics. He is also the author of the New York Times bestsellers “Tom Clancy Support and Defend,” “Tom Clancy Full Force and Effect” and “Tom Clancy True Faith and Allegiance.” With Tom Clancy, he coauthored “Locked On,” “Threat Vector” and “Command Authority.”